2018 Duathlon


In the days building up to this year’s event I was busy planning poor weather routes and putting additional safety measures in place due to the many weather warnings in place for the race day. However, we were once again treated to perfect racing conditions, if a little cold, for what turned out to be a very competitive event.

Forty-three started and first into transition after the first run was Karl Gray with a commanding lead over Danny Hope, followed by Marcus Preedy, our first relay team member. In the women’s race, Sarah Sellens of Humber Triathletes, had a 43 second advantage over three times winner Donna Edmondson however the hilly bike course often reshuffles the order and this year was no exception. First back off the bike was Marcus’ relay partner, Joshua Whitehead who smashed the bike record by almost 2 minutes achieving an average speed over the course of 37kmh. Marcus’ second run was strong enough to maintain the first position and they formed our first finishers with a new overall course record.


Joshua Whitehead setting off on his record breaking ride.

Donna retook the lead with the fastest female bike time of the day however her lead was too small and a strong second run by Sarah saw the trophy going back to Humberside, Donna was left to rearrange her trophy cabinet, ‘only’ taking home the fastest bike trophy for the fourth year on the trot.

Sarah Sellens

Winner Sarah Sellens with fourth place Paul Sellens, both of Humber Triathletes

In the men’s race, despite Danny taking a minute out of Karl’s lead with a strong cycle section, Karl’s strong second run crowned him champion, just 20 seconds short of the solo course record set by former World Duathlon Champion, Harry Coates in 2016.

first 3 men

The first three men; Danny Hope (2nd), Karl Gray (1st), Richard Hand (3rd)

We also saw the men’s V50 record smashed by Andrew Robinson who shaved 28 seconds off his previous year’s time (then a V40) to set a new record which will be tough to beat.

Fred Wardle of Macclesfield Wheelers was first V60.

Richard Hand took the fastest solo bike trophy home and third place overall.


Thank you to all our sponsors; Woodcocks Haworth and Nuttall Solicitors, Beaconfell Bike Shop, Holden Ice Creams, The Lounge. Particular thanks to Craig and staff at the Hare and Hounds for their continued support of the event and Holcombe Harriers.

Thank you too to everyone at Holcombe Harriers who gave up their time to make the event run smoothly.

See you all next year,

John Raho

Race Organiser.



%d bloggers like this: